2021 Miami Host Committee and Partners finalizing construction this summer on innovation spaces throughout South Florida

MIAMI LAKES, Florida – Construction is slated to wrap up this summer on brand new innovation spaces in schools throughout South Florida, as part of the legacy of positive community impact left behind by the 2021 College Football Playoff National Championship. The 2021 Miami Host Committee and College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation have partnered with local school districts, sponsors and others on the transformation of 23 spaces in Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties.

While the CFP National Championship was played at Hard Rock Stadium in January 2021, the construction on these innovation spaces began in 2019, continues through the summer and the final remaining projects are anticipated to be completed later this year. These new spaces include enhanced technology, modular and flexible furniture that provide infinite configurations and bolster comfort and creativity, exciting colors, carpets and wall wrappings throughout the spaces. The vision of the innovation space is for both students and staff to work in a technology-rich collaborative environment, designed to foster both independent and group exploration.

“A central part of our successful bid to host the 2021 College Football Playoff National Championship was the special opportunity to join the CFP Foundation in launching an impactful Extra Yard for Teachers program in our community,” said Judge Michael B. Chavies, Chair, 2021 Miami Host Committee.

The Host Committee is grateful for the generous contributions of its community sponsors that have helped to underwrite the costs of the program, including presenting sponsor Anthony R. Abraham Foundation, as well as associate sponsors AutoNation, Baptist Health, City Furniture, Florida Blue, Florida Lottery, Florida Power & Light Company, GA Telesis, Mario & Susana Trueba, MOSS, Related Philanthropic Foundation and TBC Corporation.

About the 2021 Miami Host Committee
The Host Committee for the 2021 College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship (2021 Miami) is a collaborative effort of the entire community, South Florida municipalities, visitors’ bureaus, the Miami Dolphins, Hard Rock Stadium and led by the Orange Bowl Committee, which previously has hosted 20 college football national championships in its 87 years of existence. The 2021 Miami Host Committee Board is populated by a diverse group of South Florida leaders, committed to creating a significant legacy of giving back to South Florida, along with the economic impact and international media exposure for the region generated by the game on January 11, 2021. For more information on the Host Committee, log on to 2021miami.com or follow the @2021miami on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.